Renew and Extend Alcohol Managed Areas NYE

At its meeting, held on 26/06/17, North Sydney Council resolved that all existing Alcohol Free Zones and Alcohol Prohibited Areas related to New Years Eve be renewed.

Areas in Waverton, McMahons Point, Lavender Bay and Kirribilli that are generally regarded as alcohol free have been added.

The Alcohol Free Zones and Alcohol Prohibitions have the support of NSW Police and are established, respectively, under Sections 644, 644A, and 644B and Section 632 of the Local Government Act, 1993.

They may be established for a maximum allowed period of four years, to expire on 1 January 2021.

Section 644A of the Local Government Act states that public consultation on proposals to establish alcohol-free zones must take place.



Balls Head, Carradah Park (40KB)

Carradah Park, Waverton Park, Sawmiller's Reserve (98KB)

Cremorne Point (80KB)

Kurraba point (37KB)

North Sydney, Kirribilli, Milsons Point, Lavender Bay, McMahons Point (266KB)

All maps in one (484KB)


Have Your Say

Comments on this proposal should be addressed to Council by 12/08/17.

Comments should be addressed to North Sydney Council, 200 Miller Street, North Sydney NSW 2060 or email

Posted on 10 July 2017

Back to Listing