North Sydney Independent Planning Panel

The NSIPP is a Determining Body, with delegated authority to consider and determine DAs or any other matters referred to it by the GM.

2018 Update

Please be advised Council is awaiting further information from the Department Planning & Environment in relation to changes surrounding Independent Hearing and Assessment Panels which are to be implemented from 1 March 2018. 

These changes will impact on the current procedures for the North Sydney Independent Planning Panel (NSIPP) and may effect currently scheduled meeting dates. At present, Council’s NSIPP will still run as per normal arrangements for the first meeting of the year. This will be held on Wednesday 7 February 2018 with future meetings tentatively scheduled for the first Wednesday of each month.

Further details regarding these changes, panel sitting dates and panel members will be announced prior to this date. 

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact Council on 9936 8100 for further information.


North Sydney Independent Planning Panel Charter (47KB)

The NSIPP was established at the Council meeting 22 July 2013


Each agenda is available here by 5pm on the Thursday prior to the meeting.

On-site inspections may be carried out on the day of the Panel meeting and at the discretion of the Panel Chair, so Panel members can acquaint themselves with the site and relevant issues. Independent inspections by Panel members are not permitted. Inspections are not open to the public.

Council staff will be available to the Panel for inspections and meetings to answer questions and clarify issues.



Determinations and any relevant decision of the Panel shall be made by a majority vote. If votes are tied the Chairperson will have the casting vote. Voting is to be recorded for the public record. The Panel will publish its reasons and conclusions for decisions. Minutes will be available on the next day (Thursday) following the meeting.


Panel Members

The Panel consists of at least four members with experience and qualifications in urban design, architecture, planning or planning law. Panel members include:

  • Jan Murrell - Chairperson
  • Michael Harrison - Member/Alternate Chairperson
  • Ian Pickles - Member
  • Virginia Waller - Community Member
  • Francesca O’Brien - Alternate Community Member
  • Peter Brennan - Alternate Member
  • Grant Christmas - Alternate Member


Meeting Dates


7 February 2018 Agenda, Reports and Minutes