Young writers


Nan Manefield YWA Winners

Congratulations to all of the young writers who entered in the 2020 Nan Manefield Young Writer's Award.


Due to social distancing guidelines, instead of an Awards Night, this years announcement is online. It includes an introduction from the Mayor, Jilly Gibson; comments by the judges of each age category; and the winners talking about their creative inspiration, and reading their winning sories and poems.

View the full awards announcement video here.


This year Stanton Library has also published an eBook of the stories and poems of the Winners, Highly Commended, and Commended young writers.

This can be borrowed on the Borrow Box app with a Shorelink library card.


Winners of the 2020 Nan Manefield Young Writer's Award

16-18 years
 Winner Bessie Yuan
   Highly Commended
 Duy Quang Mai
   Commended (joint)
 Thy Pham
   Commended (joint)
 Sarah Coren
 14-15 years
 Winner  Elizabeth Sutherland
   Highly Commended
 Vicky Guan
   Commended  Annie Ming Kowalik
 13 years
 Winner  Emma Baldwin
   Highly Commended
 Elaine Li
   Commended  Alyssa Horan
 12 years
 Winner  Jessica Ellis
   Highly Commended
 Illyra Gennusa
   Commended  Renee Li
 11 years
 Winner  Gemma Clark
   Highly Commended
 Aaron Li
   Commended  Joanna Wludyka



























Winners of the previous (2019) Nan Manefield Young Writers Award

11 years            Cecilia Lung (673KB)

12 years            Adam Zreika (50KB)

13 years            Yolanda Pu (330KB)

14-15 years      Emma Walton (39KB)

16-18 years      Jennifer Hao (420KB)