8.9. Nan Manefield Young Writers Award 2022

AUTHOR: Bec Shelberg, Children's & Youth Librarian

ENDORSED BY: Rebecca Aukim, Director Community and Library Services

ATTACHMENTS: Nil

PURPOSE:

This report provides a summary of the annual Nan Manefield Young Writer's Award.

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY:

Winners of the 33rd Young Writers' Award were announced at a presentation evening at Stanton Library on Thursday 9 June 2022.

A total of 354 entries were received from across the Sydney Metropolitan region. The presentation event was held to celebrate the Winning, Highly Commended and Commended entries, many of whom attended with their family members.

Judges of two age categories were in attendance to speak about the entries, provide general feedback and give insight into their choices when awarding the prizes. The other three judges (who were unable to attend due to COVID restrictions) provided written feedback that was read out by a member of the library staff. Prizes across the five age categories totalled \$3500.

The judges all acknowledged the consistently high quality of the entries received, a reflection of both the commitment of local schools to high quality creative writing and to the high standards that the Young Writers' Award has come to elicit from the local community.

FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS:

There is an allocated budget of \$5,000 to deliver the Young Writers' Award annually.

RECOMMENDATION:

1. THAT the report be received.

LINK TO COMMUNITY STRATEGIC PLAN

The relationship with the Community Strategic Plan is as follows:

- 4. Our Social Vitality
- 4.1 North Sydney is connected, inclusive, healthy and safe
- 4.2 A centre for creativity and learning

BACKGROUND

The Young Writer's Award was first held in 1990. In 1998 it was named for former Councillor, the late Dr Bill Coppell, and in 2015, in honor of Nan Manefield.

The late Nan Manefield was a Librarian at North Sydney Boys High School and a lifelong champion of literacy and local history, giving 30 years of service as a citizen member on several of Council's Library and Historical Services Committees.

CONSULTATION REQUIREMENTS

Community engagement is not required.

DETAIL

This was the 33rd year of the Award and library staff, judges and over 100 young people and their family members were excited to celebrate the children's achievements at the in-person presentation evening opened by the Mayor.

This year over 350 entries were received from young people throughout the Sydney metropolitan area, a small increase on the previous year suggesting some recovery from the impact that COVID has had on families and schools over the last few years. The winners in each category bravely read their work aloud to the packed house of supportive and proud families.

Consistent with recent years, the largest proportion of entrants was in the 16-18 years category, showing the high level of independent interest in creative writing. Entries in many categories included talented students encouraged to enter by their teachers and included interest from schools across the Sydney metropolitan area.

The judges all acknowledged the consistently high quality of the entries received, a reflection of the both the commitment of local schools to high quality creative writing and to the high standards that the Young Writers' Award has come to elicit from the local community.

The Library is grateful for the support of the five judges, who are all award winning, published authors: Will Kostakis, Sue Whiting, Tim Sinclair, Erin Gough and Ursula Dubosarsky.

Judge Sue Whiting presented three writing masterclasses during the July school holidays with places offered to all prize winners. All entries were displayed for visitors to read in the Library throughout June/July, and winning entries for each age group were also made available on the Council website.

Major Prize Winners in 2022:

- 11 Years Winner April Rose
- 11 Years Highly Commended Oscar Ho
- 11 Years Commended Juan Patricio
- 12 Years Winner Rosalie Sun
- 12 Years Highly Commended Adrisha Sarker
- 12 Years Commended Jayden Kei Woo
- 13-14 Years Winner Andy Elias
- 13-14 Years Highly Commended Dana Wan
- 13-14 Years Commended Grace Li
- 15 Years Winner Chelsea Lu
- 15 Years Highly Commended Scarlett Kevin
- 15 Years Commended Sayaka Shima
- 16-18 Years Winner Natalie George
- **16-18 Years Highly Commended** Avishi Katamaneni
- 16-18 Years Commended Annie Ming Kowalik

Feedback on both the competition and the presentation evening from parents and judges was overwhelmingly positive.



11 years winners Oscar Ho, Peter Wang and April Rose with Judge, Ursula Dubosarsky



12 years winners Jayden Woo, Adrisha Sarkar and Rosalie Sun



13-14 years winners Andy Elias, Dana Wan and Grace Li with Mayor, Zoe Baker



15 years winners Chelsea Lu, Sayaka Shima and Scarlett Kevin with judge, Will Kostakis



16-18 years winners Avishi Katamaneni, Natalie George and Annie Ming Kowalik with Mayor, Zoe Baker