Household Waste Clean Up

Every second Monday (dates below) there is a Council pickup for residential household items.

There are two ways to book in your pick up:

 

Quantity

Allowed for single residences is 2m2 (like a small box-trailer load), and 0.5m2 for each unit in multi-unit residences.

 

Items Accepted

  • clothing
  • china
  • furniture
  • mattress
  • carpet in rolls up to 1.2m long
  • small appliances such as microwaves
  • white goods such as a fridge, stove, washing machine, dryers - not more than 90kg, tape or tie shut so nothing and no-one can be trapped inside, or detach the door
  • small glass up to 1m long (wrap and tape up)

Items NOT Accepted

  • kitchen food scraps
  • soils, stones, concrete, building wastes ie. kitchen/laundry/bathroom and other renovation material/rubble, treated timber, and wooden or other type pallets
  • liquid waste, paint
  • e-waste
  • bean bags
  • motor vehicle body and parts (including tyres)
  • oversized items such as hills hoists, baths, sinks, vanities, laundry tubs/sinks, toilets, commercial size fridges, etc.
  • recyclable materials such as cardboard, glass
  • large glass over 1m long (eg. windows, mirrors)
  • green waste is not accepted instead use the Green Waste clean up

Items - how to present them for pickup

  • items must not be placed out earlier than the Sunday before the Monday collection
  • put items outside the property boundary, or within 2m of an entrance
  • large items and whitegoods should be put on a main street frontage and not in a rear laneway (so the large truck needed can access them)
  • small and light items should be put in unwanted containers such as cardboard boxes or plastic bags, and these will be taken as part of the clean up.

 

E-waste and Other Items

E-waste is not accepted in this clean up - please use the CRC.

If you are unsure about an item - check our A-Z of Waste & recycling.

 

Or try Rehoming?  

Household clean up material is sent to landfill. Before you throw it out, why not try The Bower reuse and repair centre.

 

2022 Collection Dates (includes public holidays)

Mon 03 January

Mon 17 January

Mon 31 January

Mon 14 February

Mon 28 February

Mon 14 March

Mon 28 March

Mon 11 April

Mon 25 April

Mon 09 May

Mon 23 May

Mon 06 June

Mon 20 June

Mon 04 July

Mon 18 July

Mon 01 August

Mon 15 August

Mon 29 August

Mon 12 September

Mon 26 September

Mon 10 October

Mon 24 October

Mon 07 November

Mon 21 November

Mon 05 December

Mon 19 December

 

* Council contracts this service to URM. To facilitate this service your personal details may be provided to URM who are bound by Council's privacy obligations - please refer to https://www.northsydney.nsw.gov.au/Information_Pages/Privacy