Household Waste Clean Up

Every second Monday (dates below) there is a Council pickup for residential household items.

There are two ways to book in your pick up:

 

Quantity

Allowed for single residences is 2m2 (like a small box-trailer load), and 0.5m2 for each unit in multi-unit residences.

 

Items Accepted

  • clothing
  • china
  • furniture
  • mattress
  • carpet in rolls up to 1.2m long
  • small appliances such as microwaves
  • white goods such as a fridge, stove, washing machine, dryers - not more than 90kg, tape or tie shut so nothing and no-one can be trapped inside, or detach the door
  • small glass up to 1m long (wrap and tape up)

Items NOT Accepted

  • kitchen food scraps
  • soils, stones, concrete, building wastes ie. kitchen/laundry/bathroom and other renovation material/rubble, treated timber, and wooden or other type pallets
  • liquid waste, paint
  • e-waste
  • bean bags
  • motor vehicle body and parts (including tyres)
  • oversized items such as hills hoists, baths, sinks, vanities, laundry tubs/sinks, toilets, commercial size fridges, etc.
  • green waste is not accepted instead use the Green Waste clean up.
  • recyclable materials such as cardboard, glass
  • large glass over 1m long (eg. windows, mirrors)

Items - how to present them for pickup

  • items must not be placed out earlier than the Sunday before the Monday collection
  • put items outside the property boundary, or within 2m of an entrance
  • large items and whitegoods should be put on a main street frontage and not in a rear laneway (so the large truck needed can access them)
  • small and light items should be put in unwanted containers such as cardboard boxes or plastic bags, and these will be taken as part of the clean up.

 

E-waste and Other Items

E-waste is not accepted in this clean up - please use the CRC.

If you are unsure about an item - check our A-Z of Waste & recycling.

 

Or try Rehoming?  

Before you throw it out, why not resell, give away, or swap - try this list of rehoming options.

 

2021 Collection Dates (includes public holidays)

Mon 04 January

Mon 18 January

Mon 01 February

Mon 15 February

Mon 01 March

Mon 15 March

Mon 29 March

Mon 12 April

Mon 26 April

Mon 10 May

Mon 24 May

Mon 07 June

Mon 21 June

Mon 05 July

Mon 19 July

Mon 02 August

Mon 16 August

Mon 30 August

Mon 13 September

Mon 27 September

Mon 11 October

Mon 25 October

Mon 08 November

Mon 22 November

Mon 06 December

Mon 20 December