Nan Manefield Writers' Award

Meet the Judges

Erin Gough
Erin Gough is a fiction writer whose stories have been published in many journals and anthologies. Her second novel, Amelia Westlake, has won the Readings Young Adult Book prize and the Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature at the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards and continues to be shortlisted for many more.

Ursula Dubosarsky
Ursula Dubosarsky is a well-known author of over 50 books for children and young adults. She has been a nominee for the Hans Christian Anderson and the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Awards. And has won more writing awards than we can count including the Premiers Literary Awards 9 times over, more than any other author. She was also the 2020-2021 Australian Children’s Laureate.

Tim Sinclair
Tim Sinclair is a writer of young adult fiction and poetry. His latest book, RUN, is a parkour thriller set in Sydney that was a CBCA Notable Book and was also longlisted for the Inky Awards. His other works include the novel Nine Hours North, Vapour Trails poetry collection, and a short story in the Growing Up Queer in Australia anthology.

Will Kostakis
Will Kostakis is a writer of all things, from celebrity news stories, to cease and desist letters, to tweets for professional wrestlers. He’s best known for his award-winning YA novels, The Sidekicks and The First Third. He was a teenager when his first novel, Loathing Lola, was published. His latest novel series, Monuments, has been shortlisted in the 2020 Indie Book Awards.

Sue Whiting
Sue Whiting is an acclaimed children’s and YA author and editor who has worked in publishing for more than twenty years. She is the author of numerous books, including the bestselling Missing, the award-winning A Swim in the Sea and a number of CBCA Notable Books. The Book of Chance was shortlisted for the 2021 CBCA Book of the Year Awards and Highly Commended in the 2021 Davitt Awards.