Previous Writers in Residence

Yvette Poshoglian 

Peter Pinson 

Ursula Dubosarky 

P.M Newton

Justin Fleming 

Belinda Hopper

History Council of NSW

Writer in Residence

North Sydney Council offers writers the opportunity to pursue their inspiration in the tranquil, historic Don Bank Museum - a heritage home with a wonderful Victorian-remnant garden setting (photos below). Applications usually open August-October each year on this webpage. For more information please contact library@northsydney.nsw.gov.au.




Writer in Residence 2020

The 2020 Don Bank Studio Writer in Residence is - Mascara Literary Review.

Mascara Literary Review is a literary journal based on the North Shore (Wahroonga) which has been publishing literary work by leading and emerging writers for over a decade. 

The residency will be shared between four Mascara writers:

Debbie Lim has had poems published in Australian journals and anthologies, and won the Rosemary Dobson Prize (2009), The Inverawe Nature Poetry Prize (2008, 2010) and the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Prize (2008, 2010).

David Ades is a poet and short story writer widely published in Australia, USA, Israel, India, England, Romania and New Zealand. He is the author of Mapping the World and Afloat in Light. He won the Wirra Wirra Vineyards Short Story Prize in 2005.

Michelle Hamadache is a lecturer at Macquarie University and managing editor for Mascara Literary Review. She has published in Australian and International journals including Southerly, Cordite, Parallax and Antipodes. She will work on her manuscript, The Jasmine Alphabet.

Michelle Cahill made the shortlist for the Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize 2015, with her work Borges and I. With Letters to Pessoa she won the 2017 NSW Premier's Literary Awards, and the UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing.

Mascara Literary Review will, as well as their own writing projects, collaborate with Stanton Library to produce an engaging community program for 2020 (although interrupted by COVID-19). The aim is to connect community with this group of writers.