Maccallum Pool

Maccallum Pool, on the western side of Cremorne Point, is a unique 33m harbourside pool with heritage character and superb views. 

It was originally just a rock pool created by local residents to form a safe harbour swimming hole (see the video below). 

Then the architectural style of the current pool dates from the 1920s.

In keeping with that character it was first restored by Council in 1985.

Maintenance is ongoing with the most recent works to decking and fence done in August 2020.

The pool is always open and only closes for cleaning as detailed below.

 

Covid-19 Update

Council is taking precautions to keep our staff and the community COVID safe. Please stay 1.5 metres apart from others and wash hands regularly. Gatherings of up to 30 people (from 23 Oct) are permitted. For more information about what you can and can’t do under COVID rules, visit the NSW Government website. During cleaning, sunbathing cannot be permitted on the surrounding deck area of the pool because it also being cleaned due to Covid-19 precautions. Pool and boardwalk are thus closed at the same time.

 

Cleaning Timetable 2021

Because the pool is above the high-water mark, and it is filled with water directly from the harbour, beautiful Maccallum pool needs to be regularly cleaned.

Please check this timetable against the times posted on the pool gates, or speak with one of our friendly reserve maintenance team.

It is completed once a week (tide dependant) and requires closure to allay the health and safety risks of an empty or half-full pool.

Once the pool is refilled to an adequate level it is reopened to the public.

 

Pool closed (begin clean)

Pool re-opens

Wednesday 7 April, 6.30am

Thursday 8 April, 6.30am

Wednesday 14 April, 10am

Thursday 15 April, 6.30am

Thursday 22 April, 6.30am

Friday 23 April, 6.30am

Wednesday 28 April, 10am

Thursday 29 April, 6.30am

Wednesday 5 May, 6.30am

Thursday 6 May, 6.30am

Wednesday 12 May, 12.30pm

Thursday 13 May, 6.30am

Thursday 20 May, 6.30am

Friday 21 May, 6.30am

Wednesday 26 May, 9am

Thursday 27 May, 6.30am

Thursday 3 June, 6.30am

Friday 4 June, 6.30am

Tuesday 8 June, 8am

Wednesday 9 June, 6.30am

Tuesday 15 June, 11am

Wednesday 16 June, 6.30am

Tuesday 22 June, 7am

Wednesday 23 June, 6.30am

Monday 28 June, 11am

Tuesday 29 June, 6.30am

 

Opening and closing times for Cleaning are estimates only and may vary due to tides, weather or other variables out of our control and we apologise for any inconvenience this may cause.

 

Related Documents