Commercial Centres

The North Sydney Local Government Area (LGA) comprises two central business districts (CBDs) North Sydney and St Leonards CBDs, and several commercial centres.


North Sydney CBD

North Sydney CBD is identified as part of the Harbour CBD in the Greater Sydney Commission's Greater Sydney Regional Plan, A Metropolis of Three Cities.

The CBD is home to some of Australia’s leading knowledge-based businesses in a range of industry sectors. It is competitively priced, well connected to transport, green, friendly and has all the services you and your staff need.

For more information about the North Sydney CBD and some of the major developments taking place, such as the Sydney Metro, download the Nth Syd brochure (5MB).

St Leonards CBD

St Leonards CBD is identified as a health and education precinct in A Metropolis of Three Cities.

The CBD offers a mix of some of Sydney’s oldest and most respected institutions with innovative small business and a young, well-educated community. It is the sixth largest employment centre in Sydney and the third largest north of the harbour. Close to the North Sydney CBD, it is in easy reach of Chatswood, the Sydney CBD and Macquarie Park.

For more information about St Leonards CBD, download the Destination St Leonards brochure.

Destination St Leonards brochure (14MB)


Crows Nest

Crows Nest is a mixed-use centre, providing retail, commercial, residential, and entertainment opportunities for local residents. Unofficially, it's the Eat Street of our Council area! It also holds the annual Crows Nest Festival -


Neutral Bay

Neutral Bay contains significant retailing, hospitality and entertainment uses as well as commercial office spaces servicing business needs of the local population. It has a range of cafes, bars, restaurants and shops. There is also a large number of small-to-medium enterprises covering various industries, including advertising, finance, IT and real estate.


Other commercial centres

Other commercial centres include:

  • Cammeray

  • Cremorne

  • Kirribilli

  • Waverton